top of page

FIRST Robotics Kickoff

Power Up!

It’s build season! Of course that doesn’t mean much to me since I’m a first year, PR member of Breakaway. I’m Sienna, I’m in Charketing which is a Super Department composed of Marketing, Chairman's, Engineering Inspiration (that’s me) and Alumni and Sponsor Relations. On January 6, Breakaway hosted a Kickoff at our school, Harding Academy. 25 other teams from all around Arkansas came to kickoff with us, including 8 rookie teams! The President of Arkansas FIRST, Meredith Novak, came to see us! She is such an inspiration to me and girls all throughout FIRST. Since it was my first ever kickoff, I was wide eyed at everything. The video was beautiful, right up my alley. The game, Power Up, looks incredible and so much fun!

Breakaway members dissecting the PowerUp game manual

Preparing for the season

We had a bunch of robot kits to give to all the teams that came, so they could see what they need to build their robot for the Power Up season. I went to 2 classes: Outreach and How to Build a Business Plan. They were both interesting and informative. Outreach was helpful and gave us ideas for future activities that Breakaway can do for our community. The Business Plan class taught me a lot about what goes into an exceptional business plan. For example, the coordinator stated that there should be one member who knows the plan backwards and forwards, so that they could explain it when the judges come by. I am thrilled to be apart of such a great program like FIRST, and such a great team like Breakaway. I can’t wait for what this season, Power Up, has in store for me.

Coach Jones helping explain the new game to the many teams gathered in the Harding Academy gym

Thank you to our sponsors!

Ryerson Metals logo

TT

bottom of page