top of page

Breakaway Lights Up at Spark!

In November, Breakaway 3937 went to Little Rock for the event Spark. Spark is a major fundraiser for the Museum of Discovery. This event is like no other. Instead of speeches and a sit-down dinner there are hands-on activities, like making liquid nitrogen ice cream and a silent auction. One of the attractions was Breakaway.

At our station we had robot “sumo” and our competition robot from the 2018 FIRST Robotics game. Many patrons drove the robot and even were able to stack cubes from this year’s game. One fun part for me was talking to others people about what we do on Breakaway. Many were surprised to hear that high schoolers had built the robot. Even more were shocked to learn that we built the machine in just six intense weeks.

This being my rookie year on team Breakaway, I had no idea what to expect from Spark. Now that I was able to see Spark with my own eyes, I can say that this was a great opportunity to share with others about the future of STEM in Arkansas, FIRST Robotics, and to promote our unique team.

We are thankful for our sponsors!

bottom of page